Owning a car is one of the most common dreams people have had since childhood. It’s a symbol of one’s freedom to move anywhere without being dependent on public transport. In the 21st century owning a car has become one of the basic amenities one requires.
There are multiple utilities of owning a car that overshadows the expenses of owning it.
Today we will be discussing one of the key requirements of owning a car in Florida as we try to provide a comprehensive answer to the question “Do you need insurance to register a car in Florida?” To get more details on the topic please keep scrolling and keep reading this page.
Also Read: A Fool-Proof Formula To Get Cheapest Car Insurance Without License
Table of Contents
- 1 Do You Need Insurance to Register A Car in Florida ?
- 2 The Need for Insurance to Register A Car in Florida
- 3 What Is Needed to Register A Car in Florida?
- 4 How Much Does it Cost to Register A Car In Florida for The First Time?
- 5 How Much Do Tax Tag And Title Cost in Florida?
- 6 How Much Does it Cost to Register A Car in Florida And Get Plates?
- 7 What Happens If I Move to A Different State From Florida?
- 8 Final Words !
Do You Need Insurance to Register A Car in Florida ?
The short answer is Yes. To register a car in Florida or any type of vehicle in any state you need to have a valid insurance. Without insurance no car are not allowed to be registered.
The matter of fact is you can’t bring your car to the road without a valid insurance. In Florida, you will get a buffer period of 10 days from the date of vehicle purchase to buy a car licence.
There are few documents which you must have to register a car in Florida. These are like prerequisite for vehicle registration in Florida which includes original insurance documents as well.
- Identity Proof
- Resident Proof
- Registration Fees
- Proof of Valid Insurance
- Completed Application Form
Average cost of car insurance in Florida could be of two types. Average annual minimum coverage premium will cost you around $1,101 and Average annual full coverage premium will cost you somewhere around $2,364
Also Read: Best Pet Insurance With Wellness Plan
The Need for Insurance to Register A Car in Florida
The answer to this question is an absolute yes, based on Florida state laws before you register a 4-wheeler vehicle it is mandatory to complete automobile insurance and show proof of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and Property Damage Liability (PDL) automobile insurance.
One needs to maintain his/her insurance through the registration period unless he/she wants to get the driving privilege and license plate suspended for up to three years.
Apart from the legal requirement to complete the insurance before vehicle registration we recommend our readers to do the insurance as an important action to save yourself from expenses in case of an unwanted accident.
Also Read: Does Car Insurance Cover Non-accident Repairs ?
What Is Needed to Register A Car in Florida?
Owning a car in Florida requires one to arrange multiple necessary documents based on the rules and regulations of the State of Florida. To make your life in Florida easy, we have consolidated all that is needed to register a car in Florida.
- One must have his/her title
- You need to provide proof of identity
- One needs to complete and provide documentation of Florida auto insurance
- Payment receipt of registration at the local DHSMV
- In addition residents of Florida for 1-2 years need to complete a VIN inspection, complete an official odometer reading, get new license plates for their vehicle in Florida, pay the required sales tax for of sales vehicle they are buying, and he/she also needs to keep in mind that registration fee will differ based on the various features of the car like size, length, etc.,
- One needs to abide by the Florida law of getting their vehicle registered at a local DHSMV in Florida
Also Read: Does Insurance Cover Reconstructive Surgery After Mastectomy
How Much Does it Cost to Register A Car In Florida for The First Time?
In addition to all the documentation stated above one needs to pay an initial registration fee at their local service center.
As of date the net amount to be paid for the registration would cost you $225.
Also Read: Top 10 Examples of Accidental Death For Insurance Purpose
How Much Do Tax Tag And Title Cost in Florida?
One of the key documents required for registering a vehicle in Florida is the title. To get the title for a vehicle one needs to spend a first-time charge of $420.00, plus any sales tax due.
In addition to it, the state of Florida also imposes a 6% sales tax on the full purchase price less trade-in. For Pinellas County residents they require to pay an additional 1% on the first $5,000.
One also needs to take care that a transfer of ownership has to be done it needs to be completed within 30 days of the purchase date of the title unless he/she wants to shell out an additional $20 penalty fee to be paid for delay in transfer of ownership.
Some other costs associated with getting a title for your vehicle in Florida involve a cost for the Florida Title Certificate, the title fee is $75.75 (or $85.75 for a vehicle with an out-of-state title). For each lien recorded, a fee of $2.00 is also charged.
Also Read: High Paying Effortless Part Time Jobs in USA For International Students
How Much Does it Cost to Register A Car in Florida And Get Plates?
Post owning a car in Florida one must register the car and get its license plates within 10 days of the purchase.
The initial registration cost is $225.
Additionally, the registration fee may vary based on the weight of your car, and whether it is brought within the state or outside the state.
Based on the weight of your car the registration fee as per State laws of Florida are:
- 0-2499 pounds – $27.60 per year and $55.20 for 2 years
- 2500-3499 pounds – $35.60 per year and $71.50 for 2 years
- 3500+ pounds – $45.60 per year and $91.20 for 2 years
Next to get a license plate one needs to pay the standard fee of $28, if you wish to have a personalized plate you will require to shell out another $70 and a license plate transfer would cost you $7.
Also Read: What Happens To Your Life Insurance When A Factory Closes
What Happens If I Move to A Different State From Florida?
Once you decide to reallocate out of Florida your car’s registration and license need to be taken care of.
Firstly do not cancel the insurance you have done in Florida until registration of your vehicle in the new state. If you are keeping the insurance carrier, they can change your coverage to your current state of residence when you make the registration change.
Also Read: What Is Writing A Check To Yourself
Final Words !
In the above space, we have tried to answer all the questions regarding registering a car in Florida post buying it.
Reiterating some key aspects please do abide by the rules and regulations regarding registering a vehicle in Florida.
You are welcome to revisit the site and refresh the details in your mind whenever required.
We hope to have cleared all queries and doubts revolving in your mind about the need to buy insurance to register a car in Florida and you had a great time reading this article.
Have a nice and safe stay in Florida, do remember to get your vehicle registration done in time and enjoy a safe drive !!!